Minnie Faigre Knox: Clair de lune

O never ye sleep in the moonlight,

My pious old Granny would say,

For sleepers, bewitched by the moonlight,

With madness thereafter are fay.

 

But why should I sleep when the moon shines,

And waste all her beauty away?

There´s more to be done when the moon shines

Than slumber in houses and pray.

 

My body I´ll bathe in the moon-rays,

My mantle of dew shall be spun.

Encrowned in a nimbus of moon-rays,

I´ll dance till the night flee the sun.

 

And if I should yield to the moonbeams,

Laid low by weird malison´s harm,

Let me sleep ´neath the turf in the moonbeams,

Enthralled by the night´s silver charm.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

