W.H. Davies: Bewitched

Give me a night in June that´s clear and quiet,

That I may stare at Heaven until I see

Her face all twitching to her farthest star –

Conscious of one true man´s idolatry.

 

I stare at dewdrops till they close their eyes,

I stare at grass till all the world is green;

I stare at rainbows all their precious life,

Till nothing´s left to prove what I have seen.

 

I stare at Robin Redbreast on his bough,

Till he comes down with many a pretty dance:

I stare at my own Self, and walk the earth

With half my spirit in a wonder-trance.

Kommentar verfassen

